Portogruaro's concordiese national Museum
The Concordiese National Museum, the first State Antiques Institute in the post-unification Veneto, preserves the finds from the excavations of the ancient Roman colony Iulia Concordia and the surrounding area.
Inaugurated in 1888, the museum was built from scratch to house the material that emerged during the successful excavations, conducted by Dario Bertolini, a Portogruarian lawyer passionate about archeology, in the urban area and in the "Tomb of the Soldiers" of Concordia Sagittaria, as well as the finds preserved in the collection of the notable Muschietti family and the Episcopal Seminary.
The building, designed by the engineer Antonio Bon, has a structure in the shape of an early Christian basilica with three naves, both to evoke the early Christianity of Concordia and to reflect the stylistic taste of the time, tending to re-propose structures with a medieval appeal.
The Museum largely preserves what was once the nineteenth-century layout: on the ground floor there is the large room with three naves in which architectural elements, stelae and funerary monuments, portraits and epigraphic material are exhibited; in an adjoining room, to the right of the entrance, there are marble portraits, decorative elements relevant to public and private spaces of Concordia and coins found in the Concordia countryside.
On the first floor, the three rooms exhibit materials relating to the pre-Roman phase of the site and various finds from the Roman era, such as bronzes, bricks, ceramics, glass, plasters and gems. Some of the pieces found during the most recent excavations are also presented, including early medieval material.