The Historical Archive
The Archive preserves documents relating to the administration of the city from the fifteenth to the mid-twentieth century and boasts a collection of manuscripts from the fourteenth to the nineteenth century. It is based in the Doge's Palace where it was transferred in 1994, following the important restoration work that returned the historic building to the city, the original nucleus of which dates back to the second half of the 13th century. The oldest part is made up of the funds of the Magistracies responsible under the Republic of Genoa for the administration and provision of the city: the Fathers of the Municipality, the Censors, the Abundance, and the Provisori del Vino. It also houses the permanent exhibition Amole, pounds, spouts from the historical collection of weights and measures of the city, before the definitive introduction of the metric system in 1805.