Giannettino Luxoro Museum
The building that houses the Giannettino Luxoro Museum , with the furnishings contained therein, became the property of the Municipality of Genoa in 1946, thanks to the bequest of the last owner, Matteo, who remained without direct heirs, who ordered the transformation in a public museum dedicated to the memory of his nephew Giannettino Luxoro , who died prematurely during the First World War.
This delightful villa, immersed in the greenery of the last stretch of the Nervi parks , in the Capolungo area, overlooking the sea, was built in 1903 to a design by Matteo's elder brother, the engineer Pietro Luxoro, inspired by the models of Genoese architecture of the seventeenth-eighteenth century.
From the beginning this holiday home was actually conceived as a precious container, internally decorated with stuccoes and frescoes of a historicist taste , where to set the artistic collections acquired from the second half of the nineteenth century by the Luxoro , a Genoese family that among the its members include the famous painter Tammar, Pietro's paternal uncle.
The preferences of these passionate collectors mainly concerned the field of decorative arts and in particular the Ligurian production of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries , even if in the Museum there are objects of different nature and origin.