The Archaeological Museum of Bergamo has ancient origins, dating back from 1561 when it was chosen the Loggia in Palazzo della Ragione as a place of exposure. The eighteenth century was an important century for the museum, as it was decided to design a new venue and expansion of the archaeological collection. In 1960 the museum was reorganized in fourteenth-century Palazzo Visconti of its current headquarters Citadel. Currently, the museum boasts rich exhibition of artefacts found in the Bergamo area. Furthermore, some rooms are dedicated to the Lombard history, as well as significant period in the history of the city and its territory. The museum provides many educational activities especially designed for primary schools. One of the future plans for the Museum is definitely moving to a larger and appropriate venue to host all educational and exhibition initiatives.