The Church of Santa Maria degli Angeli, known as Il Santuccio, is located in the historic center of Siena.
The church was part of the female Augustinian monastery of Santa Maria degli Angeli and was built in 1352, then rebuilt by the Sienese architect Annibale Bichi in 1577. The name "Il Santuccio" comes from the fact that the noble family of the time were the Santucci, who were also benefactors of the church. On the main altar, the large canvas "The Madonna, the Child, and the Saints" painted by Francesco Vanni in 1610 is still preserved today. Of great interest is certainly the fresco with the concert of Angels created by Ventura Salimbeni in 1612. The same artist created a much larger cycle of frescoes depicting the life of San Galgano. For a long time, the Head of San Galgano was kept as a relic in the church, but today it is exhibited in the Museum of the Opera del Duomo.
The church houses one of the oldest existing organs dating back to 1531.
Today, the church is open to visitors and the public.