The Cloisters of Sant'Eustorgio rise in one of the most important places from the historical point of view of the Ambrosian church. Right here, according to tradition, San Barnaba baptized the first Milanese Christians, giving rise to the local church. The first Dominican convent in Milan and the two cloisters, which house the Museum of the Basilica of Sant'Eustorgio and the Diocesan Museum of Carlo Maria Martini, were housed in the complex as early as the 13th century. The Museum of the Basilica of Sant'Eustorgio is located on the left side of the existing basilica and was built at the end of the third decade of the 13th century. In the following centuries the cloisters underwent alterations and destruction to be restored during the nineteenth century. The aerial bombardment of 15 August 1943 left the complex in precarious conditions: the first cloister was less damaged, while the second was entirely destroyed on the north side and uncovered. Since 2016, the Cloisters of Sant'Eustorgio are a museum complex that offers the city a unique cultural proposal with events and temporary exhibitions.