National Historical Museum of Artillery
Currently the museum, managed by the Army, is located on a main site at the Keep of the Citadel which hosts, in addition to the museum management, temporary exhibitions and conferences, and a secondary office that houses the museum deposit that can be visited at the "Caserma Amione".
The National Historical Artillery Museum is the first European institution of its kind and the oldest museum in Turin, founded at the Royal Arsenal by Carlo Emanuele III in 1731. In 1893 the museum was transferred to the Keep of the Citadel and in 1961, on the occasion of the centenary of the Unification of Italy was further enlarged. The importance of the collections, about 12,000 exhibits, which present many specimens from all over the world, some unique and of great value, give the museum a prominent place. The finds offer an exhaustive overview of the history of weapons starting from the Neolithic up to the twentieth century.