Orangerie Museum

The Orangerie Museum is a Paris museum dedicated to Impressionist and Post-Impressionist painting. It is located inside the Jardins des Tuileries, near the Seine and is housed in an old orange greenhouse, hence the name "Orangerie". Having become a museum in 1921, the Orangerie museum is particularly famous and appreciated for being the home of Claude Monet's cycle of paintings depicting the popular Water Lilies: two rooms of the museum are dedicated to these long painted panels. It is a cycle of paintings donated to France by the painter Claude Monet in the aftermath of the armistice of 11 November 1918 as a symbol of peace. They were exhibited in the rooms of the Orangerie in 1927, a few months after the artist's death, as established by him. In 1952 André Masson called it the "Sistine Chapel of Impressionism". The Orangerie museum also houses the Jean Walter and Paul Guillaume collections, with masterpieces by artists such as Paul Cézanne (whose work "Portrait of Madame Cézanne" can be admired), Henri Matisse, Amedeo Modigliani (of which one can admire "The young apprentice") Pablo Picasso, Pierre-Auguste Renoir (for whom it is possible to see various works, such as "Yvonne and Christine Lerolle on the piano" and "Femme nue dans un paysage") and Henri Rousseau. It is also now home to important temporary exhibitions, which further enrich the experience of visiting the museum.

Timetable and tickets


Jardin Tuileries
75001 Paris


Discounts and prices’ reductions with the Artsupp Card

With the Artsupp Card you can get, for the first time, discounts and reduced entrance tickets for Italian museums .

Discover more

Other museums in Paris